Me, A Mom

3 kids and a dog

Mental Stimulation…sorry laundry and dishes don’t do it for me

I’m a mostly stay at home mom

a

SAHM

sort of

except now I also sub in a nearby school washing dishes

and several weekends a month I work as a church musician.

but the last 14 years

I’ve essentially been a SAHM

and I might add

not always a very good one

I love cooking

hate doing dishes

Don’t mind throwing a load in the washer and dryer but really don’t like folding.

Occasionally Over the years I’ve taken painting classes.

and learned I actually have some talent(not a  lot…but enough that was challenging at least for a while

some more of my paintings not perfection but enough to provide mental stimulation

then I tried crochet(this is a broomstick crochet shawl

and quilling

but what is finally bringing me to feeling like I’m using my brain is a that I decided to take a class….

no not on baking, or crocheting,

not even a book club

I’m taking a class

from the harvard divinity school through ed x which is an online MOOC

the class was titled Early Christianity:The Letters of Paul

taught by Dr. Laura Nasrallah and her teaching team of doctoral students.

and as my BA was in comparative study of worlds religions this class was perfect( a little more into history than I was used to …but I was able to be in discussion with a like-minded academic focused population….and….it was free!

this is what had been missing…yes I’d go out to a morning coffee group occasionally but that discussion revolved around the kids

this was different is different it stimulates your brain and you reach

become human

more than a diaper changer, dish washer (not that there is something wrong with those) I needed more

I will definitely be seeking out more classes online or otherwise to continue to challenge my thinking and brainwaves

and I strongly encourage anyone who is a mom or dad for that matter to always work at improving yourself…intellectually…

IN taking care of yourself and your needs you are more able to see to the needs of others.

that is all

have a great day

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

